Happy New Year

Tonight is the beginning of the Jewish new year, Rosh Hashanah. It’s an opportunity for families and friends to over-indulge on food, to be together and to wish all a happy and healthy year ahead. Religiously, it is the festival where G-d writes us into the Book of Life. On the Day of Atonement, Yom Kippur, in ten days time it is said that G-d seals us in the Book of Life. The explanation for this is that once you are sealed into the Book of Life your fate for the next year is decided.

I have often thought over the last few weeks about Rosie’s fate last year. Do I believe that it is decided like this? I’m not sure. But tonight is another opportunity to be together as a family, to support each other, to remember Rosie (as if we need an excuse to do that) and to reinforce her presence for our little children.

Talking to Tali just now I told her how tired I am. She asked why, to which I said it’s been a very hard few months. In only the way Rosie’s daughter can, she said in reply “well things are settling down now”. So mature. And yet she is still just seven years old. Yes things are settling down but Rosie is still not here. This morning Joey said out of nowhere “I want mummy”. He wouldn’t add anything to that other than he misses mummy. That sums it up for me.

To my friends and family, to the many people who read this blog, whether you are Jewish or not I wish you a happy, healthy and peaceful year ahead where ever you are and whatever you are doing. Shana Tova.

Elliot

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Happy new year to you and your family Elliot! My first Child, my daughter, was born sleeping when i was eight months along in January 2015 and though my loss is not related to cancer in any way, reading this blog has helped heal my broken heart. Many thanks to Rosie and you for helping me heal. Carol from Zambia, Africa.

    Like

Leave a Reply

