Happy birthday Rosie

On this day, 39 years ago, Rosemary Sara Kalman was born. This year, for the first time, we must celebrate Rosie’s birthday without her. The sense of loss is as great today as it has been at any point over the last four months. Rosie lived for birthdays, so much so that she had already started planning her 40th; including her list of invitees. Who knows, perhaps next year we will feel able to have a proper party. For now I comfort myself with the company of our two wonderful children, and in a gesture that I’m sure Rosie would appreciate the three of us will light candles on a cake and sing happy birthday.

I’ve said this before and I’ll no doubt say it again. If you have a loved one give them a hug and tell them how much they mean to you. Live for today and don’t worry about getting older; in fact thank whoever or whatever you thank for being able to grow old. It’s a gift. Don’t take it for granted.

Happy birthday Ro. Happy birthday my darling xxx

Elliot

100_0327

4 thoughts on “Happy birthday Rosie

  1. My friend Janie Thorn introduced me to your blog… Also being a mum at 39 having had breast cancer and recently diagnosed with secondary breast cancer your story really touches me, I hope you are all doing ok. It seems its always the best people who leave us too soon, enjoy your cake its the best medicine and I wish you all the best of luck. Angela xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

